Post-Tribune http://posttrib.suntimes.com Latest news from Post-Tribune Online en-us webmaster@suntimes.com (Editor) http://posttrib.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/posttrib.gif Post-Tribune http://posttrib.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Sat, 25 Oct 2014 16:46:01 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30632551-474/story.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30632551-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Guest column: Top ideas sought for revitalizing Gary ]]> Lead story image

This summer, the city of Gary tore down the former Sheraton hotel, a looming symbol of the city’s blight and urban decay. Like empty, deteriorating buildings in cities everywhere, it conveyed a sense of despair and hopelessness about the future. Gary has seen hard times, but all of us know that real change is coming. This is a moment when Gary can turn its fortunes around as a talented but debt-burdened generation looks for new places to pursue their creative and entrepreneurial dreams — cities where they can start a business and build a life. To that aim, the Knight … ]]> Thu, 30 Oct 2014 02:07:47 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30728998-474/guest-column-top-ideas-sought-for-revitalizing-gary.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30728998-474/guest-column-top-ideas-sought-for-revitalizing-gary.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: For Hammond’s mayor, it’s all about him ]]> Lead story image

We stand stunned and dazed by the horror of mass murder in Northwest Indiana, but it’s not all bad news. Sure, seven women were brutally murdered, but there’s no use fixating on human degradation. Look at the bright side. Hammond Mayor Tom McDermott does. Of course, if you are Gary’s mayor trying to find a way through the evil maze, enduring McDermott’s civic taunts and cheerleading — my town’s better than your town — does not seem so charming. But, hey, don’t be a party pooper. You just have to appreciate the happier political benefits of serial murder. So while … ]]> Sun, 26 Oct 2014 02:03:07 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30610249-474/rutter-for-hammonds-mayor-its-all-about-him.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30610249-474/rutter-for-hammonds-mayor-its-all-about-him.html <![CDATA[ Niedner: Ebola hysteria obscures greater threats ]]> Lead story image

“Ebola is coming, Ebola is coming!” sounds the chorus of talking heads on the 24-7 TV news stations. The rest of the message, clear enough though unspoken, urges viewers to “Be afraid. Be very afraid.” These messengers have a job to do — generate a level of fear and obsession intense enough to sustain a viewing audience that will satisfy the advertisers who keep them on the air. The TV news directors have plenty of practice and know what works. Add the additional factor that we find ourselves in the final weeks of an election season, when politicians seek to … ]]> Sun, 26 Oct 2014 02:05:11 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30615737-474/niedner-ebola-hysteria-obscures-greater-threats.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30615737-474/niedner-ebola-hysteria-obscures-greater-threats.html <![CDATA[ Milbank: A Democratic candidate who embraces Obama ]]> Lead story image

WASHINGTON — David Perdue took the cheap and easy route. The Republican Senate candidate in Georgia, like Republican candidates in most other competitive congressional races, calculated that the surest road to victory was to tie his opponent, Democrat Michelle Nunn, to President Obama. “The president himself said, ‘Make no mistake, these policies are on the ballot,’ ” Perdue says in a TV commercial. As a photo of Obama with Nunn filled the screen, Perdue continued, “That’s why he wants her in the Senate.” It was typical of Perdue’s campaign strategy of trying to run against Obama. What was not typical … ]]> Thu, 23 Oct 2014 04:40:22 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30594251-474/milbank-a-democratic-candidate-who-embraces-obama.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30594251-474/milbank-a-democratic-candidate-who-embraces-obama.html <![CDATA[ Cal Bellamy: Ethics commission achieving positive results ]]> Lead story image

As president of the Shared Ethics Advisory Commission (SEAC), I feel compelled to respond to David Rutter’s Oct. 12 column. He criticizes our awkward-sounding name. He seems to fault us for not being able to make saints out of sinners or hardened criminals into model citizens. We admit to these “shortcomings.” Now, let’s get down to the facts. Established in 2005, SEAC’s function is to train frontline public employees on ethical decision making. We believe most public employees want to do the right thing, but sometimes culture or inattention leads them to do things not in the best interests of … ]]> Sun, 19 Oct 2014 02:08:50 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30502800-418/cal-bellamy-ethics-commission-achieving-positive-results.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30502800-418/cal-bellamy-ethics-commission-achieving-positive-results.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: Media no strangers to income inequality ]]> Lead story image

Peter Liguori and I have never met, but I will stipulate that he’s probably a nice guy with a nice family and nice home and lots of nice things inside his nice home. He and I are sort of in the same business. Media is a giant circus tent packed with clowns, freaks, sequins and tightrope walkers. Liguori and I occupy the same tent but perform in different rings. He’s Mister Ringling. I am the guy with the large scoop who picks up after the elephants. It’s a living. For this shared devotion to telling stories, informing the uniformed and … ]]> Sun, 19 Oct 2014 02:09:10 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30488525-474/rutter-media-no-strangers-to-income-inequality.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30488525-474/rutter-media-no-strangers-to-income-inequality.html <![CDATA[ Parker: A little panic might be helpful ]]> Lead story image

WASHINGTON — Now, now, let’s not panic. Yes, we have a second Ebola virus patient infected after treating the Liberian man who apparently concealed his exposure to this often-fatal disease, but this is no reason to panic. “It’s bad news that another person is sick,” Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins said Wednesday to MSNBC anchor Jose Diaz-Balart. Indeed. It’s actually terrible news to the other 75 health care workers who treated the infamous Thomas E. Duncan before his death. Though there is some good news — the first nurse infected, Nina Pham, is in “good” condition — the bad news … ]]> Thu, 16 Oct 2014 02:13:22 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30464302-474/parker-a-little-panic-might-be-helpful.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30464302-474/parker-a-little-panic-might-be-helpful.html <![CDATA[ Niedner: No need for job-related anger to lead to violence ]]> Lead story image

Most personal meltdowns that snowball into newsworthy stories have origins more complex than the public usually learns. On the surface, however, it appears that the fellow who recently sabotaged the Aurora, Illinois, air radar center and temporarily snarled the nation’s air traffic did so to make a statement about his colleagues’ ineptness. Countless others have asked, “How can I fly like an eagle when I’m surrounded by turkeys?” Very few inflict such widespread, indiscriminate punishment as a way to express their disdain. Taxpayers will soon enough pay the millions of dollars necessary to fix things at the Aurora center and … ]]> Sun, 12 Oct 2014 02:11:54 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30360369-474/niedner-no-need-for-job-related-anger-to-lead-to-violence.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30360369-474/niedner-no-need-for-job-related-anger-to-lead-to-violence.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: Porter County government moves onward to good schmethics ]]> Lead story image

The village of Hebron discovered ethics last month. This occurred just after Police Chief Steve Sibbrell fled out the barn door for happier pastures. As the barn door stood agape, Cal Bellamy entered to pick up the pieces and bring harmony to the furrowed brows of that village. Some might say Bellamy and his volunteer organization devoted to civic comity and equilibrium is ethics-schmethics foppery, but I for one believe in it. Sort of the way I believe in the tooth fairy. It’s a jovial idea. Besides, what can it hurt? Sibbrell apparently did something. We don’t know if it … ]]> Sun, 12 Oct 2014 02:12:14 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30355304-474/rutter-porter-county-government-moves-onward-to-good-schmethics.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30355304-474/rutter-porter-county-government-moves-onward-to-good-schmethics.html <![CDATA[ Niedner: America’s ambivalence toward war ]]> Lead story image

President Obama declared “war on war” at a recent United Nations gathering. The timing seemed apt, what with armed conflict raging in Syria, Iraq and the Ukraine, and smoke still lingering from recent fighting in Gaza, Mali, Nigeria, the Central African Republic and South Sudan. The potential for such struggles to escalate gives the world sufficient reason to be fed up with war. Ironically, Obama’s declaration came in the same week he authorized bombing raids on Islamic State militants in the Middle East. He told his UN audience that the language of force is the only one that “the network … ]]> Sun, 05 Oct 2014 02:12:57 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30240640-460/niedner-americas-ambivalence-toward-war.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30240640-460/niedner-americas-ambivalence-toward-war.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: Let Russians have Ukraine but not Pabst Blue Ribbon ]]> Lead story image

As the oldest hipster in America, I have buying decisions to make. Sure, I’m witty of banter, charming and droll in demeanor, free in thinking, socially conscious and dismissive of shallow consumerism. My clothes are older than you are. I groove. I was hip when hip was just an ugly part of my body. We urban hipsters drink beer varietals such as Pabst Blue Ribbon, beverages so vile they are monitored by the Centers for Disease Control. But now Pabst is a Russian beer. This does not seem hip for a hipster to swig. The Pabst Putsch makes the recent … ]]> Sun, 05 Oct 2014 02:13:21 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30237059-474/rutter-let-russians-have-ukraine-but-not-pabst-blue-ribbon.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30237059-474/rutter-let-russians-have-ukraine-but-not-pabst-blue-ribbon.html <![CDATA[ Parker: Which party waging ‘war on women’? ]]> Lead story image

WASHINGTON — It has long been accepted by the conventionally wise that the Republican Party is waging a “war on women.” Let’s be clear. The war on women is based on just one thing, abortion rights. While it’s true that access to abortion has been restricted in several states owing to Republican efforts, it’s not true that women as a whole care only or mostly about abortion. I promise, this isn’t another abortion column, not that the horrific number of abortions performed each year shouldn’t make one’s stomach turn. Instead, extremists on the pro-choice left celebrate the “right” to terminate … ]]> Thu, 02 Oct 2014 02:09:51 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30219123-460/parker-which-party-waging-war-on-women.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30219123-460/parker-which-party-waging-war-on-women.html <![CDATA[ Guest column: Toll Road lease still a good deal for Indiana ]]> Lead story image

Just when we thought the debate from nearly a decade ago about the Indiana Toll Road lease had been laid to rest, news emerges that the private company that operates the tollway is filing for bankruptcy. I am familiar with the arguments for and against the 2006 toll road lease. I was there when they were being made on the floor of the General Assembly, and I participated in the decision. I also live in and represent the communities that are along the toll road. As we see where we stand today, I do not think “I told you so” … ]]> Wed, 29 Oct 2014 06:18:05 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30107261-460/guest-column-toll-road-lease-still-a-good-deal-for-indiana.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30107261-460/guest-column-toll-road-lease-still-a-good-deal-for-indiana.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: LinkedIn fibs make us better and worse than reality ]]> Lead story image

If you are a bright, buttoned-down go-getter who might be looking for a job, your personal LinkedIn.com Internet profile could look something like this: “I am a(n) … Executive … with extensive community outreach experience and am currently working as a Certified (PHR) VP of … . Experienced in the vast arena of internal and external communications. Proven accomplishments … with mid-size organizations. Always looking for new opportunities in the field of … Management. Well-versed in coaching, training, change management, counseling and performance management. Experience in consulting, process design and … compliance. Experienced in multi-divisional organizations … Background includes general … ]]> Wed, 29 Oct 2014 06:19:18 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30109340-474/rutter-linkedin-fibs-make-us-better-and-worse-than-reality.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30109340-474/rutter-linkedin-fibs-make-us-better-and-worse-than-reality.html <![CDATA[ Guest column: Hispanic contributions seen everywhere in America ]]> Lead story image

Recently, I was asked to speak to a group of third- and fourth-graders in conjunction with Hispanic Heritage Month, which is being celebrated through Oct. 16. As I prepared for my presentation, I was surprised at the lack of awareness, exhibits, programs or events scheduled to inform and educate the public about the great contributions made by a significant portion of our population. Hispanic contributions cover every aspect of American society, such as the arts, sports, science, food, music and education. We must always remember that Latinos have given the full measure of devotion and sacrificed their lives with valor … ]]> Sun, 26 Oct 2014 07:44:02 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30085237-474/guest-column-hispanic-contributions-seen-everywhere-in-america.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30085237-474/guest-column-hispanic-contributions-seen-everywhere-in-america.html