Post-Tribune http://posttrib.suntimes.com Latest news from Post-Tribune Online en-us webmaster@suntimes.com (Editor) http://posttrib.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/posttrib.gif Post-Tribune http://posttrib.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Sat, 27 Sep 2014 16:16:00 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30142585-474/story.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30142585-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Indiana Toll Road lease remains a good deal for Indiana ]]> Lead story image

Just when we thought the debate from nearly a decade ago about the Indiana Toll Road lease had been laid to rest, news emerges that the private company that operates the tollway is filing for bankruptcy. I am familiar with the arguments for and against the 2006 toll road lease. I was there when they were being made on the floor of the General Assembly, and I participated in the decision. I also live in and represent the communities that are along the toll road. As we see where we stand today, I do not think “I told you so” … ]]> Sun, 28 Sep 2014 02:07:54 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30107261-460/indiana-toll-road-lease-remains-a-good-deal-for-indiana.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30107261-460/indiana-toll-road-lease-remains-a-good-deal-for-indiana.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: LinkedIn fibs make us better and worse than reality ]]> Lead story image

If you are a bright, buttoned-down go-getter who might be looking for a job, your personal LinkedIn.com Internet profile could look something like this: “I am a(n) … Executive … with extensive community outreach experience and am currently working as a Certified (PHR) VP of … . Experienced in the vast arena of internal and external communications. Proven accomplishments … with mid-size organizations. Always looking for new opportunities in the field of … Management. Well-versed in coaching, training, change management, counseling and performance management. Experience in consulting, process design and … compliance. Experienced in multi-divisional organizations … Background includes general … ]]> Sun, 28 Sep 2014 02:08:14 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30109340-474/rutter-linkedin-fibs-make-us-better-and-worse-than-reality.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30109340-474/rutter-linkedin-fibs-make-us-better-and-worse-than-reality.html <![CDATA[ Guest column: Hispanic contributions seen everywhere in America ]]> Lead story image

Recently, I was asked to speak to a group of third- and fourth-graders in conjunction with Hispanic Heritage Month, which is being celebrated through Oct. 16. As I prepared for my presentation, I was surprised at the lack of awareness, exhibits, programs or events scheduled to inform and educate the public about the great contributions made by a significant portion of our population. Hispanic contributions cover every aspect of American society, such as the arts, sports, science, food, music and education. We must always remember that Latinos have given the full measure of devotion and sacrificed their lives with valor … ]]> Thu, 25 Sep 2014 02:08:51 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30085237-474/guest-column-hispanic-contributions-seen-everywhere-in-america.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/30085237-474/guest-column-hispanic-contributions-seen-everywhere-in-america.html <![CDATA[ Rampell: The myth about America’s public schools ]]> Lead story image

WASHINGTON — Have America’s public schools gotten worse over the years? Americans seem to think so. Every time I write about why attending college is so crucial for moving up the income ladder — or, these days, for landing any job at all — I’m inundated with emails blaming the country’s K-12 system. Today’s workers have to go to college, readers argue, because our increasingly broken public schools have ceded responsibility for educating them. Data from the annual Phi Delta Kappa/Gallup poll, a survey about education, reflect similar views. Over the past four decades, respondents have become increasingly likely to … ]]> Sun, 21 Sep 2014 02:06:27 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29973948-460/rampell-the-myth-about-americas-public-schools.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29973948-460/rampell-the-myth-about-americas-public-schools.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: Maybe we’ll find a reason to stop the violence ]]> Lead story image

My father did not spank. He ground his teeth in a circular biting anguish when he wanted to hit something. Mother never spanked me, either, though she often threatened to snitch to dad, and he would be home presently to make me sorry. I’d intermittently be ordered to retrieve a switch from that lousy little tree in the back yard and stand ready to “get it, mister, when your father gets home.” But the actual switching never happened. That was good because those switches could lacerate steel. That tree was denuded of all foliage by the time we moved, but … ]]> Sun, 21 Sep 2014 02:06:46 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29986869-474/rutter-maybe-well-find-a-reason-to-stop-the-violence.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29986869-474/rutter-maybe-well-find-a-reason-to-stop-the-violence.html <![CDATA[ Milbank: Republicans saddle their warhorses ]]> Lead story image

WASHINGTON — Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel was testifying Tuesday about the need for military action in Syria and Iraq when Ann Wright, an anti-war demonstrator in the audience, rose and began shouting, “No more war! No more war!” U.S. Sen. Carl Levin, D-Mich., chairman of the Armed Services Committee, hammered the gavel. “You’re acting very war-like yourself,” he told Wright. Must be going around. With extraordinary speed, the nation and its leaders have rallied behind war to defeat the Islamic State terrorist group. President Obama still holds to a “no boots on the ground” pledge, but to listen to recent … ]]> Thu, 18 Sep 2014 02:11:22 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29947335-460/milbank-republicans-saddle-their-warhorses.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29947335-460/milbank-republicans-saddle-their-warhorses.html <![CDATA[ Niedner: History shows our enemies often become friends ]]> Lead story image

When we finished our arithmetic in the two-room elementary school I attended, we had discretionary time while children in other grades had their lessons. I used it to pore over World War II issues of National Geographic magazine. Wartime photos and descriptions from Europe and the Pacific captivated me, although they didn’t make me dream of becoming a soldier. Too many revealed the human cost of war, and I felt no urge to risk paying it. A visit to the U.S. Marine Corps Museum in Virginia this past week left me feeling like I’d stepped inside those old magazines. Here … ]]> Wed, 17 Sep 2014 22:28:01 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29832618-460/niedner-history-shows-our-enemies-often-become-friends.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29832618-460/niedner-history-shows-our-enemies-often-become-friends.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: Federal judge to Indiana — You’re a bunch of dopes ]]> Lead story image

When Judge Richard Posner wrote the unanimous marriage-equality opinion for the U.S. 7th Circuit Court of Appeals Court in Chicago, he had words about Indiana, though he wasn’t talking personally to you. To be fair, he had similar words for Wisconsin, too, but it’s Wisconsin, so who really cares? It’s significant that the words were Posner’s because he was appointed by President Ronald Reagan in 1981, and his conservative, moderate credentials do not seem stained by partisanship. Remember when “moderate” was a word you could use about political conservatives? Who is he? He has written 40 books. The Journal of … ]]> Sun, 14 Sep 2014 02:08:01 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29827775-474/rutter-federal-judge-to-indiana-youre-a-bunch-of-dopes.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29827775-474/rutter-federal-judge-to-indiana-youre-a-bunch-of-dopes.html <![CDATA[ Guest opinion: Education is worth the investment ]]> Lead story image

There is no greater financial investment in one’s future than a college degree. While this viewpoint has its critics, the reality is that the value of a degree has never been greater. Despite growing public questions about a degree’s worth, the pay gap between college graduates and those without a degree reached a high in 2013. Americans with four-year college degrees made 98 percent more an hour on average than those without a degree, according to new data from an analysis of Labor Department statistics by the Economic Policy Institute. And the wage gap is only increasing — up from … ]]> Thu, 11 Sep 2014 02:07:55 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29807072-474/guest-opinion-education-is-worth-the-investment.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29807072-474/guest-opinion-education-is-worth-the-investment.html <![CDATA[ Niedner: Back to school is a time for reflection ]]> Lead story image

Despite all the wrangling over funding, curricula and privatization of our schools, these late-summer weeks remain a hopeful sacred season as we witness the return of youngsters and teachers to their classrooms. Photos of first-time students appeared this week on my Facebook page. Parents of preschoolers and first graders posted pictures of backpack-toting children — so lately in diapers, it seems —who will now be out of their sight for much of the day. Moms and dads who helped move those all-too-recent first graders into college dorms have posted photos, too. Anyone who has ever taken such a picture knows … ]]> Sun, 07 Sep 2014 02:07:51 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29668545-460/niedner-back-to-school-is-a-time-for-reflection.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29668545-460/niedner-back-to-school-is-a-time-for-reflection.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: Speak your mind at your own risk ]]> Lead story image

Former House Speaker Nancy Pelosi sends me “Dear David messages” by email. She says, “Dear David, I need your help.” I am smitten. It’s disturbing. Vice President Joe Biden congratulates me for my soaring intelligence by using my actual name. I’m less smitten. U.S. Sen. Dick Durbin emailed to congratulate me for personally shaming Walgreens into staying in America and shunning fat Euro tax breaks. He says I can have one of his campaign T-shirts for $25. Sorry, don’t think so. Now The Prez comes knock-knock-knocking at my email door. Says Mister Obama in my personal email inbox — “Nancy … ]]> Fri, 12 Sep 2014 23:52:13 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29684848-460/rutter-speak-your-mind-at-your-own-risk.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29684848-460/rutter-speak-your-mind-at-your-own-risk.html <![CDATA[ Milbank: Obama’s unnerving happy talk ]]> Lead story image

WASHINGTON — President Obama is not worried. And that is unnerving. British Prime Minister David Cameron presented to Parliament on Monday the alarming conclusions of European leaders who had met in Brussels over the weekend. “The European Council believes the creation of an Islamic caliphate in Iraq and Syria and the Islamist extremism and export of terrorism on which it is based is a direct threat to every European country,” Cameron said. “To confront the threat of Islamist extremism, we need a tough, intelligent, patient and comprehensive approach to defeat the terrorist threat at its source. We must use all … ]]> Thu, 04 Sep 2014 02:08:49 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29666545-460/milbank-obamas-unnerving-happy-talk.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29666545-460/milbank-obamas-unnerving-happy-talk.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: How Indiana slipped into burger-flipping poverty ]]> Lead story image

Pull up a chair. I’m afraid I have bad news. In between burgers on the grill and fireworks this Labor Day weekend, try to remember when you aspired to a middle-class life. Are you there yet? Probably not. If you are like a million other Hoosiers, it’s been a Lost Decade. You might have missed the event, and state politicians won’t ’fess up to their complicity. Indiana’s commonly shared delusion suggests that we are one, giant middle class. We get what we earn honestly, and our toil produces safety and prosperity for our families. Indiana is the American Dream. We’re … ]]> Sun, 31 Aug 2014 02:07:25 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29549427-474/rutter-how-indiana-slipped-into-burger-flipping-poverty.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29549427-474/rutter-how-indiana-slipped-into-burger-flipping-poverty.html <![CDATA[ Guest opinion: Labor Day 2015 — a call to action ]]> Lead story image

If I were to choose two words to describe the state of labor and work in America today, they would be “precarious” and “devalued.” Precarious because the majority of new jobs are part-time, temporary or subcontracted. Devalued because wages keep sliding downward, producing ever-declining standards of living for working people. Who could possibly live on the current minimum wage? Your family? I don’t think so. No family can survive on $7.25 an hour. And when that low pay comes with an unreliable number of hours and a changing schedule that makes a necessary second job hard to arrange, then many … ]]> Sun, 31 Aug 2014 02:07:05 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29541521-474/guest-opinion-labor-day-2015-a-call-to-action.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29541521-474/guest-opinion-labor-day-2015-a-call-to-action.html <![CDATA[ Rutter: Anti-drug meatloaf will make us all more sober ]]> Lead story image

Once upon a time, I stood in a batter’s box and faced a baseball pitcher who threw so hard I could not even see the ball. I just heard it go by. The 1960s were like that, too. I apparently missed the 1960s though I was standing in the batter’s box. Missed drug temptation and curiosity, except for Novocain. It’s a gap in my life, which probably means I won’t be enlisting in the “transformational” anti-drug crusade in Porter County. We appreciate the urgency to spend as much of other people’s money as possible and appear to exemplify good motives, … ]]> Fri, 26 Sep 2014 13:05:44 -0500 http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29401588-474/rutter-anti-drug-meatloaf-will-make-us-all-more-sober.html http://posttrib.suntimes.com/opinions/29401588-474/rutter-anti-drug-meatloaf-will-make-us-all-more-sober.html